Cultural Response to “Management of Grief”

I really enjoyed this story. It brings awareness to how oblivious we are to respecting other cultures around us sometimes. I am very used to the American woman, being a house wife as well as being business minded. But I am not ignorant to the fact that other cultures, like the Indians only allow their women to take care of her husband and children in the home. They are married off prematurely without getting to know their partner. But because of their Culture’s practice, it has to be done. This creates the ineffective feeling of grief in these women. The different cultures shown in the story was Indian, white, Canadian, and Irish. The story showed a little glimpse of how they would display emotion. However, this story focuses on how Indian women can not handle loss. I liked ho Shaila is slowly getting past her grief and becoming better.

About jdias2

I am an English Major at Georgia State University, pursuing my degree in English.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment